my life in pictures

photography makes me happy

old cameras are awesome. September 28, 2011

Filed under: Photography — hogwartsphotographer @ 9:33 pm

This camera, the Contessa-Nettel Fiduca, has been in my house, unopened, for around 18 years. I think it had been at my dad’s parents’ before it was at our house. My parents and I had tried to open it before, but couldn’t figure it out and we were slightly afraid we would break it trying.

Recently, though, my parents were able to open it. My mom showed me it as soon as they opened it, and I was so happy/excited/freaked out. I had seen cameras like these before in photos, and I think my friend has one sort of like it. I was really happy to have one actually in my house.

I really love old cameras. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t around to use cameras like them. They are just so artistically and creatively made. So detailed. I really wish I could have seen someone developing the film after they carefully took a shot, carefully because once it’s taken, there’s no going back on it. I wish I could have seen the expression on someone’s face as they finished developing the photo, and they saw a little bit of real life, on a little sheet of paper; something they had seen, and was real and living, was now captured forever in an unmoving, unchanging, photograph.

So yeah, old cameras are just pretty awesome. (:

 

2 Responses to “old cameras are awesome.”

  1. Holland Says:

    I have a camera like that one. It’s absolutely beautiful, isn’t it?

  2. It is. It really really is.


Leave a Reply

